Catching up

First…

We have new clothes! *ducks a steady stream of brickbats* How do you dig the makeover? *gets bonked on the head by an extra-large brick* Wait, let me explain!

The other day it occurred to me (an epiphany of sorts, rather like being hit on the head with a, yup, brick) that this year marks my tenth year watching kdramas. To celebrate the milestone, I ought to retrieve my first drama from the dusty bottom shelf of my bookcase and give it a smooch or two. Alternatively (and I perk up at once at the prospect of NOT having to kiss Winter Sonata), I could always give the blog new threads as a way of commemorating said momentous occasion.

Okay, I kid. This bloggy makeover has nothing to do with ten years of kdrama-watching. Rather, it is just a little something that I want to do for myself. Two months of not watching (and not downloading) kdramas. Two months of actually contemplating walking away from this addiction for good. Two months of ruminating on the past, the present, and the future. (During which time I also happened to acquire two new chinchillas, haha!) And then I read the blog comments that continue to come in and something stirs deep within me. I have readers who care, who miss me. How sweet is that, huh? And how very encouraging, too. Yesterday, with an odd mix of both detachment and ownership, I read my episode 1 recap of Biscuit Teacher and Star Candy and it made me laugh. “Gosh, thundie, your writing can be so silly sometimes,” I say aloud, startling the kdrama-deprived lizards in my room.

Admittedly in the larger scheme of things, kdramas are unimportant. And yet, I’ve enjoyed them for ten years and believe I can continue enjoying them another ten (or more).

So, to get back to watching and writing, what stronger impetus than a new blog theme. (Yes, thundie, that totally makes sense.) Once I’m done tweaking widgets and stuff, I’m ready to pick up my second drama this year (Fermentation Family being the only thing I’ve watched so far). What do you recommend I watch first? Which dramas are rocking and which ones are tanking? And what’s been happening in k-land? Anyone got hitched (or ditched)? Is Kang Dong-won out of the army? Is Lee Min-ho still as dishy? *keels over from being hit by the largest brick ever hurled by Dahee Fanel*

87 thoughts on “Catching up

  1. Welcome Back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I’m so excited! We’ve missed you very much 🙂

    The new look is a little startling at first, but it’s just because we aren’t use to it yet. A couple of months and I bet most of us will find we forgot what the old look was. The home page feels more like a website with articles than like a blog.

  2. Hi Thundie! Welcome back!

    *Throws large brick* How can you do this to us? Leave, come back write an article, then leave again? Then spring this new web design on us out of the blue. I actually thought I was in a different blog as it was unexpected. Good to hear you are back to blogging.

    You should check out God of war which is a really good saguek.

  3. Thundie, welcome back! I tried to write you a note a bit ago to say hi and check in, but then the internet blackhole ate it up, much to my great displeasure because I actually put some time and thought into it to make it be more than my usual fluff.

    Congratulations on the 10 year anniversary! I do miss your thoughtfulness. The gentleness in your writing and humor. That’s a rare gift to be able to poke fun and do so gently.

    As for recs, Queen InHyun’s Man. Hands down. If you haven’t seen Shut Up! Flower Boy Band, it’s absolutely worthwhile as well. Though the two deal with quite different subject matters, both shows’ makers respect the intelligence of their audience. Both OTPs are just fabulous. I feel blessed.

  4. Hi Thundie,
    I am so glad you are back and have decided to keep going with the blog even tho it is so different to look at. I liked it.
    First of all you must MUST watch the Equator Man. don’t yet know if you have and it is already being taken care of. I have yet to finish this drama and I can’t wait to see if the vengeance which surrounds almost every character is going to boil over and then be melted away. Maybe there will be an epiphany for one or two of the people and they won’t go into that darkness that wreaking vengeance can bring them. I am sure there will be violent moments but I am hoping that at least one couple will find their way back into their first sweet romance.
    Uhm Tae Woong has done a marvellous job with this role. He seems to have added something which deepens his personality and he is freer with his emotions. I wondered if it was because he has been dealing with the guys on that weekly show ‘2 Days 1 Night’. They are pranksters and they have made him such a dork, but he obviously has opened up to them and become much more comfortable with groups and dealing with new people.
    I’ll be back thundie. Peg.

  5. For the past month I have been in no mood for korean dramas because of other life obligations, but reading this post makes me want to go back. Because Thundie is here, I must have liked dramas and this community for a reason! Welcome back, unnie. I wish you all the best.

  6. Thundie there is one more drama. I don’t know what you have been able to see and you swallow dramas faster than a glass of water at times. Besides the Equator Man I have been watching the one about’The Moon and the Sun’ It is the Joseon story which has turned out to be a romantic tragedy love story. It is so well done and so beautiful to look at. I wait each week to watch it on TV and I will surely watch it again all in one go if at all possible sometime. I shall also be waiting to hear you opinions and comments about these two dramas.

  7. Thundie, I had just discovered you when you went into “retirement”. I didn’t realize you were back until I happened to hit your link from Ms. Koala’s site and you’re back with a new look! Welcome back… so excited to have another thoughtful k-drama site to go to for my k-drama addiction.

  8. Oh yes thundie I agree with an earlier comment that ‘GOD OF WAR ‘ has to be seen and I really look forward to your opinion. This drama is tough to watch but you have to see every part of each episode to get really into this rousing tale. Wonderful cast.

Have your say

