30-Day K-Drama Challenge: The compact (and slightly twisted) version

If you’re not already aware, kdrama addicts love inflicting pain on themselves (and others). One of the (many) ways that they do this is draw up lists such as these ones: Ten Reasons Why Kim Gab-soo Rocks; The Worst Kdrama Endings of All Time; Craziest Plot Twists Ever; Most Pitiful Second Fiddles.

That first (Kim Gab-soo) list might take mere seconds to compile, but the next three? (Especially if you are blue and have watched close to 200 dramas.) Also, the downside of all that list-compiling torture merriment means that you can’t watch a drama and just be done with it. No, no. You have to ponder that drama’s place in an ever-expanding universe of likes and dislikes, hits and misses. You have to rank your crack. As for the upside, I can’t think of any. Who wants to dredge her brain for kdrama trivia when she can just drool over the eye candy?

But since we k-addicts like to suffer, here’s a list that’s the most daunting of any that I’ve seen.

When soluna sent the list to me about a month ago, I promptly wheeled it into that cold space in my brain marked “No Further Action Required.” Churn out thirty posts from that list? I could, but it might take a year. And honestly, some of the categories were so hard, like the favorite-lines ones. (For someone who professes to care a lot about words, I sure have pathetic recall of who said what and when.) So I did the next best thing: I cheated. I culled the original list down to ten, revamped it until it was no longer recognizable to soluna or the person who first created the list (sorry, I have no idea who ‘owns’ the copyright) and presented it thus: The transformative (or hypnotic) powers of a kdrama.

However, in recent days I’ve thought about soluna’s list again. I guess that’s the deal about k-guilt; it never quite goes away, does it? But instead of writing a post a day based on that list, I’m going to give you all thirty at one go, not necessarily answering each the way it’s meant to be answered. In other words, I think I might cheat again be creative and have a spot of fun at the same time. Here’s the complete list for your easy reference, and then my answers at the end. I look forward to reading yours!

30-Day Kdrama Challenge
Day 01: Your Favorite Kdrama
Day 02: Your Favorite Male Lead Character
Day 03: Your Favorite Female Lead Character
Day 04: Your Favorite Male Third Wheel Character
Day 05: Your Favorite Female Third Wheel Character
Day 06: Your Favorite Song from a Kdrama OST
Day 07: Your Favorite Line/s by a Male Lead Character
Day 08: Your Favorite Line/s by a Female Lead Character
Day 09: Your Favorite Line/s by a Male Third Wheel
Day 10: Your Favorite Line/s by a Female Third Wheel
Day 11; Your Favorite Dialogue
Day 12: Your Favorite Story
Day 13: Your Favorite “I Love You”
Day 14: Your Favorite Kiss
Day 15: Your Favorite Ending
Day 16: A Kdrama you started but can’t finish
Day 17: A Kdrama you’ve watched more than once
Day 18: The Worst Kdrama that you’ve watched until the end
Day 19: Your Best Actor
Day 20: Your Best Actress
Day 21: Your Worst Actor
Day 22: Your Worst Actress
Day 23: Your Best Couple
Day 24: Your Worst Couple
Day 25: Your First Kdrama
Day 26: Your Recently Finished Kdrama
Day 27: A Kdrama loved by many but you don’t seem to like
Day 28: A Kdrama not loved by many but you seem to like
Day 29: A Kdrama which made you so happy
Day 30: A Kdrama which made you so sad

Day 01: Your Favorite Kdrama
You know the thing about this whole 30-day list? Every answer has to be singular! So what do I do when I have all-time, once-upon-a-time, and current favorites? Is it cheating if I say I love Shin Don with all my heart but dare not rewatch it because the memory of that first watch is too searing? And since I always itch to watch over and over again the dramas that I love, does that mean that Return of Iljimae is my most favorite drama because I feel a compelling and ever-present urge to immerse myself in it afresh? It’s been a year since I finished and I still can’t get it out of my system. There’s just something so magical and meaningful about Iljimae’s story and journey. Moreover, now that I know how the drama ends, I don’t feel as afraid as the first time I was watching, when my heart was gripped with anxiety every episode for Iljimae’s safety.

Day 02: Your Favorite Male Lead Character
The first character to spring to mind would be Hwang Jung in Jejoongwon. But deep down, in that recess where my heart tightens for the one who isn’t pure and childlike like Hwang Jung, and who is instead emotionally wounded, morally stunted, and constantly wrestling with good and evil, then my vote goes to Cha Kang-jae in Magic. Even now my heart still hurts for this character, played superbly by Kang Dong-won. A close second would be Joo Ji-hoon’s Oh Seung-ha in Devil.

Day 03: Your Favorite Female Lead Character
Hmm, this one is hard. I confess I don’t normally get as enamored of female lead characters as I do of the male ones. *dodges Dahee’s flying shoes* Take Damo, for example. I really love Ha Ji-won’s Chae-ok, but I love my our Naeuri Hwangbo Yoon more. However, if I must pick one, then maybe Lee Shin-young in The Woman Who Still Wants to Marry. Love the layered characterization and how Park Jin-hee played her, with barrels of humor and heart.

Day 04: Your Favorite Male Third Wheel Character
Oh, too many to choose! (I even wrote a post about this, remember?) Just to name a few: Jang Bin in Fashion 70s, Park Jun-sae in Brilliant Legacy, Seo Jung-woo in My Girl. Okay, maybe I’ll pick Han Dong-jin (Lee Dong-gun) in Ruler of Your Own World, just because he was so silly, superficial and self-centered a character (the guy was a total riot). Bonus points for not being a clingy third wheel. (Although all that I’m-not-going-to-cling-to-her-for-dear-life resolve went to pot when LDG played scruffy Yoon Soo-hyuk in Lovers in Paris.)

Day 05: Your Favorite Female Third Wheel Character
Weren’t they all bitches? Okay, I exaggerate. Perhaps the most awesome of all the female third-wheel characters I’ve watched is Mi-rae in Ruler of Your Own World. Her stare could kill and so could her voice (when wailing at the top of her lungs). She went all out to keep her man, but released him when she knew his heart had left. She was so feisty, so flawed, so altogether fascinating. No wonder Bok-su struggled so much about leaving her.

Day 06: Your Favorite Song from a Kdrama OST
Hidden Pain from the Jejoongwon OST? (Not that it’s actually in the OST, waahh!) There are others, but I can’t remember their names right now.

Day 07: Your Favorite Line/s by a Male Lead Character
Sigh. Here we go with all the favorite-lines categories. Am going to fail dismally. The easiest one to remember, just because it gets quoted so often by Damo fanatics: “Does it hurt? It hurts me, too.” (And suddenly trash bins everywhere overflow with soggy tissues. Oh, what is this wretched Damo curse that renders one a weepy heap the instant a particular scene is remembered?)

Day 08: Your Favorite Line/s by a Female Lead Character
“I’m having you for lunch!” Or something to the same effect. Spoken by who else but a certain gumiho. I seriously can’t think of anything else.

Day 09: Your Favorite Line/s by a Male Third Wheel
Good grief, what else now? And who remembers such details anyway? All right… “My foolish love for you empowers me more than anything else in this world.” Spoken by Yang Man-oh in Conspiracy in the Court.

Day 10: Your Favorite Line/s by a Female Third Wheel
Pass.

Day 11; Your Favorite Dialogue
Pass. Okay, maybe this one: “Shut your gob!” “No, you shut your gob!” (Or: “You twat!” “No, you double twat!”) For more of the same (or similar), check out any sageuk translated by X.

Day 12: Your Favorite Story
Isn’t every favorite drama in essence a favorite story? Also, my most-loved dramas always tell multiple stories, each one a gem in itself. So, rather than all-time favorite story, I’ll just say my ‘favorite’ story right now is the main one unfolding in my current crack, New Gisaeng Story. You know, the one that has NGS fans chewing their nails, wondering if Da-mo and Sa-ran will have their happy ending TOGETHER. With twenty-six episodes to go, there’s no telling how much crazier the ride’s going to get. Oh, the anticipation!

Day 13: Your Favorite “I Love You”
Not necessarily favorite but the most heartrending: Song Eun-chae telling Cha Moo-hyuk in Sorry I Love You (MiSa) that she loves him. Location: a subway station. Method of delivery: practically ripping out each “I love you!” from her guts. Effect: utterly draining, on her and us.

Day 14: Your Favorite Kiss
Cha Moo-hyuk kissing Song Eun-chae beneath a street lamp, one tear rolling down his face as their lips meet. And here’s another, although it isn’t most favorite but most frightening: Bi looking like he was going to suck the life out of Shin Min-ah, in A Love to Kill.

Day 15: Your Favorite Ending
I love Jejoongwon’s ending. Also, Glass Slippers, surprisingly. I don’t mind tragic endings; I just need my endings to bring closure to the key storylines in a manner that’s honest, heartfelt and unhurried. I hate ambiguous endings that don’t make sense, that veer abruptly from the episodic direction of the drama, that expose the writer’s own inability to tie together the different threads and draw the drama to a logical close.

Day 16: A Kdrama you started but can’t finish
A kdrama? As in ONE drama? How about I list five dozen and counting? Okay, how about just the ones this year then? Let’s see… Cinderella Man, Baker’s King, A Man Called God, King Geunchogo, Golden Bride… Next question, please.

Day 17: A Kdrama you’ve watched more than once
Shall we do this alphabetically? Attic Cat, Bad Family, Beautiful Days, Conspiracy in the Court, Damo… We could be here for a while. Back in the good old days (pre-blogging and subbing days), I would immediately rewatch a drama if I loved it enough. That explains why I watched Attic Cat three times, consecutively. Don’t have the same luxury of time anymore, alas. I’m also a lot less starry-eyed and less willing to spend untold hours on just one drama. A friend rewatched We’re Dating Now 500 times. Wow, that’s some record.

Day 18: The Worst Kdrama that you’ve watched until the end
Boolsae (aka Phoenix). No, I don’t want to say anything more about it.

Day 19: Your Best Actor
In terms of acting chops? Ha Jung-woo, hands down. Even if it’s a piece of work that’s crap (like Boat), he never fails to be completely mesmerizing. Even if it’s an itty-bitty role where he’s criminally underused (like Lovers in Prague), he always owns the screen. He’s mine, all mine.

Day 20: Your Best Actress
This one is easy. Jeon Do-yeon. Hmm, on that note I really ought to hunker down and just try and finish Lovers in Prague. JDY and HJW in one drama, even if he’s just playing her bodyguard. What am I twiddling my thumbs for? Oh, that’s right, I bailed early because morose Kim Min-joon kept cycling in circles on some rooftop.

Day 21: Your Worst Actor
Can I not answer this?

Day 22: Your Worst Actress
See above.

Day 23: Your Best Couple
The Jejoongwon couple! One of the sweetest love stories to grace my kdrama screen. The Dal Ja’s Spring couple is pretty dang cute as well, although I think much of the credit needs to go to the dreamboat nicknamed Spare Tire. “If they sell Kang Tae-bongs, I’ll take two,” says javabeans in 2007, in that instant making me a lifelong fan of her writing.

Day 24: Your Worst Couple
At the risk of being pelted with rotting fish, I would say the Chuno couple. *flees to the Damo dungeon*

Day 25: Your First Kdrama
Winter Sonata. Same for lots of people, I’m sure.

Day 26: Your Recently Finished Kdrama
Life is Beautiful? Yup, I think that’s the one. Hmm, that’s like three months ago. I guess I haven’t done much ‘finishing’ then, have I?

Day 27: A Kdrama loved by many but you don’t seem to like
Stairway to Hell Heaven? Some friends whose opinions I really respect love STH. What can I say in my own defense? Nothing. But I did like the OST, so does that make my poor judgment more forgivable? Pretty, please?

Day 28: A Kdrama not loved by many but you seem to like
Shin Don. Magic. 1% of Anything. New Gisaeng Story. There’s more, but why emphasize all the ways in which I’m adrift from the kdrama-loving masses? I want to belong!

Day 29: A Kdrama which made you so happy
Taereung National Village. Always makes me smile. Always makes me want to float out of my skin. Sometimes makes me cry. Minki!!

Day 30: A Kdrama which made you so sad
Damo, Damo, Damo.

Oh my goodness, finally all done, yay! Who’s up next for the challenge?

33 thoughts on “30-Day K-Drama Challenge: The compact (and slightly twisted) version

  1. Ah, you were brave to do this all in one go. I’m currently stuck on day 23…..I may have to give up on the couples entries, since my ships rarely sail.

  2. Lovely post as always, Thundie! I guessed all ur mentions of Damon right and now I want to rewatch it or RoYOW. Mission accomplished, You! ^^

  3. Haha, I saw this challenge in someone else’s blog, and gave it a no-go after reading the first day challenge – you favorite kdrama. I realized it there and then that there’s no way in hell I could do this. You’re a brave one, my dearest thundie. I’m going to go back up and slowly read through your responses before I comment again.

    • Ok, I’m back! Why do I always giggle like an idiot whenever someone mentions Jejoongwon? It’s like a Pavlovian reflex.

      I vigorously nodded in agreement here: “I confess I don’t normally get as enamored of female lead characters as I do of the male ones.” So true. Umm, what’s the point? *ducks*

  4. hahhahah.. I’ve been thinking about taking on this challenge myself but having the tendency to be indecisive plus plain ol’ laziness make it seem daunting. So, bravo you! This is a very clever way to circumvent the challenge.

    The Jejoongwon couple! One of the sweetest love stories to grace my kdrama screen.
    Completely agree! *high five*

  5. buahaha!…you cant bail on the worst actor/actress like that thundie!…i was actually looking forward to some snark there…:P…though I do understand if you dont want to get too much hate mail… : )….anyways lovely list…..i’ve been meaning to make one of these myself ever since I’ve been seeing it on Soluna’s blog, but I get lazy every time I’m about to take out that list of kdramas I’ve completed lying around somewhere…I dont blame you for finding the dialogue part hard…I cant remember any of the lines myself except maybe a couple…Hwan Tae Kyung’s “Go Minam” and “I told you not to go somewhere I cant see you” (or something like that) also Lee Shin’s Dont leave me in episode 23 of Goong…funny how they were all spoken by the men here…..anyways I’ll try to answer some of these later when I do get my hands on that list….also hope you and your loved one are doing well 🙂

  6. Won my respect by naming Damo more than once!!! Damo FANatic!!! PLUS, mentioning Beautiful Days–my all time fav–well, that has me open to watching Jejoongwon, since you love it so much! Happy to see Dal Ja’s Spring in there, and MINKI, who made the absolute strongest impact in Haeundae, even with all the other star power in there. Never met anyone else who liked Taerung National Village, either. Way to go! Thanks for the connections and food for thought!

  7. I have not the mind to answer all of these questions . Here are some random responses .
    The first thing that I learnt in Korean was : oren mania because I think it is in everydrama ! The one which impressed me was in Iris : ShanghaÏ ; 2 am ; Orenmania Sun hwa ! wha ! I would have liked to be there !
    And what I liked too ( stupidly ) : Keuman said by the king in Don Yi to Jang Hee Bin !
    I agree with You about Jejoongwon ; but what I need to say although the actors were awesome and Park Yong Woo is my favourite actor because of this drama , the real Hwang Jung whom we saw the picture was someone much more appealing than PYW and that was the only flaw of the drama : it was not understandable that he could become a political leader with PYW figure but the real person had an absolute charisma .
    There are so many dramas that Have been loved by many but which I didn’t like !
    Thank you for your big post – I really appreciate that you didn’t tell whom you dislike and I know it is not for antifans .

  8. Oooh, loving this, thundie.
    Oh, boo, you don’t NEED to ‘belong’ thundie. (I know I for one am scared of groupies and groupie mentality.) I say it’s best to watch stuff for your own indulgence only, but having a little company isn’t a bad deal too I guess.
    Awww… Attic Cat, my first ever kdrama (the time I finally succumbed). I should rewatch it too… I could watch that couple peeling garlic all day.

    Aw man! Lines are important, thundie.
    They’re like, reeally important to me. Since I was a wee kid there were certain bits of dialogue (from English-dubbed Kung-fu films nonetheless, haha) which would stay lodged in my head and I would feverishly repeat them even in my sleep.
    Some of my most recent favourite lines are:
    ”They say revenge is a dish best served cold, but aren’t you taking too long? Just tell me who he is and I’ll finish him for you, son.” (I don’t even need to state who said that.)
    Also Lee Sung-min in Silk Shoes was full of such CLASS quotes but I couldn’t quote them as they wouldn’t make sense if you haven’t seen the film to understand them in context, but here’s one of his quotes which is universal: ”no father ever hates his son, he just can’t bear to see him disgraceful.” ❤
    (Don't know what it is about the father-son dynamic in kdramas/films that just KILLS me, every mofo'in' time.)

    Best dialogue among female leads? That'd be Ji-wan asking Cha Madame the million-dollar question, in WISFC:
    Q:''Did life go on, without him, were you able to live on?''
    Long silence.
    A:''… But times have changed. I was a barmaid with two illegitimate kids in tow, you're still young, pretty and a doctor.'' (Somewhere in there was the answer.)

    @Blue: I would LOVE to hear your answers, as much as you're shirking it, will you do this too, please, pleeeease?

  9. What was the crazy line Lee na-young said in Ireland, something about ‘a man is building a house inside my head.’ It may not be the BEST kdrama line, but I always remember that one because first of all that drama was just kinda strange as was the character and it was definitely a different way to express your current inexplicable love than most kdramas offer. Does anyone else remember that one?

    That is list is way too long and would take me hours but I will answer as many as possible (excluding the favorite female lead line which I answered above):

    Favorite Drama: For yeeeeaars it was MISA but I think Giant has replaced it in my heart.

    Favorite Male Lead Character: Any lead role by Lee Min-ki. I mean the guy just exudes goofy charm in all of his charactesr and make me swoon and laugh at the same time. Plus, unlike most other kdrama leads he doesn’t seem intimidating and over-the-top in his emotions towards the fairer sex. However, if I’m going with a character who has more depth I will go with say Lee Dae Gil from Chuno.

    Favorite Female Lead Chacter: Kim Sam-soon. As a single, chubby/curvy woman (but really, she was not even big damn kdrama casting gods!) who is coming way too close to entering her 30s, I can totally relate to Sam-soon. Plus, she was just so sassy! I wish I was as cool as her. Will a gorgeous man ever kiss me in the bathroom or let me beat him with a pig? I can only hope but its doubtful.

    Your Favorite Song from a Kdrama OST: All of the instrumental tracks on the Giant OST were beautiful. I do have a soft spot for the Snowflower song from MISA too as sad as it makes me.

    Your Favorite Story: Going to have to go with Giant again here.

    Your Favorite “I Love You”: That one where Eun Chae is just repeating it over and over while crying at Moo Hyuk’s feet in MISA. Someone pass me the tissue please?!

    Your Favorite Kiss: I actually think that Coffee Prince had probably my favorite kisses. Oh all that sexuality questioning angst made for a hot first kiss!

    Kdrama you started but can’t finish: Sooo many but I will name a few: Snow Queen (but damn scruffy Hyun Bin was frackin hot), Queen of Housewives, Dae Jo Young, Kingdom of the Winds (gives me the chill thinking about it), Magic (sorry Thundie dear), Secret Garden, My Princess, Be Strong Geum-soon , (but hell, I did make it to like the last valume of the dvd set before I gave up!), Bad Couple.

    A Kdrama you’ve watched more than once: As many kdrama sets as I have (I think like 20+ at this point), I usually don’t rewatch an entire series. I have rewatched lots of Giant, Resurrection, Sam-Soon, and MISA but I have never sat down and rewatched every episode. I really need to rewatch an entire series soon though. I’m thinking maybe The Devil,, Glass Slipper or Thank You since those sets have yet to even be taken out of the shrink wrap.

    The Worst Kdrama that you’ve watched until the end: Stairway to Heaven (though I did fast-forward a lot in those later episodes if that still counts). For one I actually watched while it was actually airing with NO fast forwarding I will say Witch Amusement. God was that painful!

    Your Best Actor: I’ve only seen him in one drama (Giant) but Park Sang Min blows all others away in that one so I will go with him. I’m not counting the veterans who are in so many dramas because really they are in a league of their own.

    Your Worst Actor: Oh Ji Ho

    Your Worst Actress: Choi Ji Woo. She’s just all tears and blank stares. Kim Tae Hee is a close second though with those bulging eyeballs.

    Your Best Couple: Moo Hyuk and Eun Chae from MISA

    Your Worst Couple: Choi Ji Woo and Kwon Sang Woo in Stairway. BLECH BLECH BLECH

    Your First Kdrama: Full House. Not very good but was addicting to me at the time.

    A Kdrama loved by many but you don’t seem to like: Secret Garden, Damo (don’t get me wrong, I liked it just didn’t LOOOOVE it), Conspiracy in the Court (again, good but not on on my top list like it is on so many others).

    A Kdrama which made you so happy: I Really Really Like You (umm, Min Ki for 34eps! NUFF SAID)

    A Kdrama which made you so sad: Giant and Chuno (I am still picking up the pieces from those two). MISA is close behind.

  10. Let me have a shot too! Reading this post made me look back at my drama life…wow, it’s been a long journey.

    Your Favorite Kdrama — Story of a Man. Sexy, intense, thrilling, and fun. If I had a DVD of it, I would encase it in gold and enshrine it, seriously.
    Your Favorite Male Lead Character — Umm, so many? I usually do end up shipping the main lead, but Naeuri Yoon Hwangbo broke my heart. For that he gets this prize.
    Your Favorite Female Lead Character — Like you said, Thundie, this is tough. But I’ll have to say Go Eun-Chan from Coffee Prince. She was heartwarming and genuine, played perfectly by Yoon Eun-Hye.
    Your Favorite Male Third Wheel Character — Shin Joon Hyuk from Que Sera Sera, because he started like the typical Prince Charming, but then turned out to have a cold, calculating side; he was satisfyingly complex, even though he wasn’t characterized as a complete villain.
    Your Favorite Female Third Wheel Character — Seul from Secret Garden, especially in the second half. Her ‘I’m the crazy bitch in this town’ speech, plus her drink-off with Mother-in-Law, were both scenes of epic win.
    Your Favorite Song from a Kdrama OST —- Ahh, so many! But the one I’m loving right now is the lovers’ them from Conspiracy in the Court.
    Your Favorite Line/s by a Male Lead Character — “I don’t care if you’re a man or an alien”. Yes, it made me swoon. Do I really have to say where it’s from?
    Your Favorite Line/s by a Female Lead Character — Umm, pass.
    Your Favorite Dialogue — Jung Ma-Roo’s dream sequence from Taereung National Village. It made me cry in the best way.
    Your Favorite “I Love You” — I have to say, nearly every one makes me squeal a little bit. But my favorites are: Taereung National Village, Coffee House and Coffee Prince.
    Your Favorite Kiss — Probably the same as above.
    Your Favorite Ending — Story of a Man. It was sheer perfection. No one character triumphed over the other because they knew that life was about continuing to work and fight and love. And the very last shot gave me chills in the best way.
    A Kdrama you started but can’t finish — Mary Stayed Out all Night. This one still stings. Three of my favorite actors in a rom-com and this crap is what I got.
    A Kdrama you’ve watched more than once — The only ones are Coffee Prince and Taereung National Village.
    The Worst Kdrama that you’ve watched until the end — Personal Taste.
    Your Best Actor — Do I have to pick? Kim KangWoo, because he gives me chills at how good he is, Lee SeonKyung, because he’s effortless and natural, and Yoo Ah In, because, well, DUH.
    Your Best Actress — Moon Guen Young, because I’d marry her if I could, Kim Byul, because of her fiesty Jung Ma Roo, and Park Shi Yeon, because she gets better with each role.
    Your Worst Actor —- *snigger* Kim Hyun Joong, because he is a block of wood.
    Your Worst Actress —- Han Chae Young, who puts me to sleep.
    Your First Kdrama — Goong
    Your Recently Finished Kdrama — Dream High
    A Kdrama loved by many but you don’t seem to like — My Name is Kim Sam Soon. Maybe because I saw if after I watched so many rom-coms, but it seemed so very cliched in the second half.
    A Kdrama not loved by many but you seem to like —- Pasta. Okay, nothing happened, but it was so charming that I don’t dislike it at all.
    A Kdrama which made you so happy — Coffee Prince, Dream High, Taereung National Village
    A Kdrama which made you so sad — Damo, Comrades, Flowers for My Life. All three still bring back tears.

    Thanks for reading!

  11. I applaud you for doing this meme. Me? I wouldn’t be able to do it. I just can’t make up my mind on, well, pretty much everything.

  12. Here is my try, as of today. I reserve the right to change it at a later day as needed 🙂

    Day 01: Your Favorite Kdrama – Favorite seems vague to me, since my “favorite” changes as the season changes. You do not stuck with just one favorite, don’t you? With that clarification, my “current” favorite is “Cain & Abel” – Yes, it’s kind of out of the blue and nonsense with many other (I read the blogs of all C&A haters…) but what can I say? Can’t help myself with the new SJS coming back from the 2 years absence. Not that I had not mesmerized with him before in Sorry I Love You…

    Day 02: Your Favorite Male Lead Character – Needless to say…. Cha Moo-hyuk in MISA, Lee Cho In in C&A, and Park Kyu in Tamra for a change!

    Day 03: Your Favorite Female Lead Character – Hm.. quite a few, and also changes as many other things that changes. But honestly, I don’t remember them much after the shows end – not like the male characters. As of today, one of them still remains in my heart is Mi-ra from City Hall.

    Day 04: Your Favorite Male Third Wheel Character – If it’s a third wheel then it always a third wheel – no favorite from me.

    Day 05: Your Favorite Female Third Wheel Character – same as above
    Day 06: Your Favorite Song from a Kdrama OST – currently it’s the Snow Flowers from MISA
    Day 07: Your Favorite Line/s by a Male Lead Character – I’m Sorry, I Love you, not saying out loud, but just declared on his tombstone.

    Day 08: Your Favorite Line/s by a Female Lead Character – pass
    Day 09: Your Favorite Line/s by a Male Third Wheel – pass
    Day 10: Your Favorite Line/s by a Female Third Wheel – pass
    Day 11; Your Favorite Dialogue – too many, but I can’t pull them out without watching the shows. Korean is not my language, and I have to depend totally on the subtitles to understand these shows.

    Day 12: Your Favorite Story – City Hall, Tamra Island
    Day 13: Your Favorite “I Love You” – pass
    Day 14: Your Favorite Kiss – quote from thundie, ” Cha Moo-hyuk kissing Song Eun-chae beneath a street lamp, one tear rolling down his face as their lips meet.” [Thundie: you just have all the words I need!]. And the second one is the one-milisecond steal kiss from Lee Cho-In to Young-ji’s when they are sharing a late night snack after Cho-In gets out of the surgery.

    Day 15: Your Favorite Ending – all happy endings!
    Day 16: A Kdrama you started but can’t finish – many. Two of them are BBF and Bad Family (sorry guys – I can’t seem to get pass the over-the-top-actings that were everywhere in the first few episodes.)

    Day 17: A Kdrama you’ve watched more than once – Fashion 70s, C&A, Coffer Prince, Glass Slipper, MISA, Goong, Pasta, Tamra, City Hall, Time Between Dogs & Wolf … can’t go on forever, can I?

    Day 18: The Worst Kdrama that you’ve watched until the end – Phoenix

    Day 19: Your Best Actor – So Ji Sub, Kim Myung-Min, Cha Seung Won,
    Day 20: Your Best Actress – Kim Sun-Ah
    Day 21: Your Worst Actor – pass
    Day 22: Your Worst Actress – pass

    Day 23: Your Best Couple – Shin Mi-rae & Jo Gook (City Hall), Young-ji & Lee Cho-In (C&A), Go Eun Chan & Choi Han Gyul (Coffee Prince), … the list goes on…, but I rather stop here or it can go till tomorrow.
    Day 24: Your Worst Couple – pass
    Day 25: Your First Kdrama – Winter Sonata, what else??
    Day 26: Your Recently Finished Kdrama – C&A
    Day 27: A Kdrama loved by many but you don’t seem to like – Conspiracy of the Court, BBF
    Day 28: A Kdrama not loved by many but you seem to like – Pasta, C&A

    Day 29: A Kdrama which made you so happy – Tamra, Coffee Prince, and most of all withhappy endings. I can suffer during the show, but please give me a good, warm, and happy endings with a closure then I’m happy. Don’t let me hang like TBD&W…
    Day 30: A Kdrama which made you so sad – MISA, but still love it.

  13. Your Favorite Female Third Wheel Character – Weren’t they all bitches?
    I, for one, am glad I wasn’t drinking any liquids when I read that. hahaha 😀 Remember Lee Da Hee in Sweet 18? I had to pause the video to laugh for a solid ten minutes when they physically fought each other. She’s up there on the list. B-tch be crazy.

    I agree with your Stairway to Inexplicable-tragedy opinion. Hate the show, loved the OST.

    I have a few quotes and monologues I love from dramas but this one always makes me laugh from Ai no Uta “And then there’s TV, putting out nothing but cheap, stinky dramas. Lose my memory, you say? I’d long for that!”

  14. My cult line by a male lead: “Tonight, I slept with you in my heart” by Cha Kang Jae in Magic.
    It was supposed to be a dramatic moment… but when I heard that, I was: O_o… Anyway, it was a moment of pure weirdness, a mix of creepy and cheesy… *sigh* Isn’t it brilliant?

  15. Ok, I’m a gonna give this a go, although I am notoriously fickle, so please don’t hold me to anything,
    Day 01: Your Favorite Kdrama – Impossible to pick just one, and my favorite list is constantly changing and evolving. I will say that Chuno is the only Kdrama that I tried to get my husband and son to watch with me. I thought the action scenes would pull them in.
    Day 02: Your Favorite Male Lead Character – GJP from BBF – hated the show but LMH was just so charismatic; Naueri from Damo – he still breaks my heart; LDG from Chuno _ and I wasn’t even on that ship, but he was such a complex character, so full of conflicting emotions.
    Day 03: Your Favorite Female Lead Character – Sad to say, but I think Kdrama female lead roles are mostly under or poorly written. A few that I have liked are HTH in Queen of Reversals, Eun Chan in Coffee Prince. LSY in Woman Who Still Wants to Marry, and SMR from City Hall. Can you tell I’m not a fan of the dimwitted, naive type heroine?
    Day 04: Your Favorite Male Third Wheel Character – MJS from Sungkyunkwan Scandal
    Day 05: Your Favorite Female Third Wheel Character – I’ve never met one I liked.
    Day 06: Your Favorite Song from a Kdrama OST – I have the whole OST from Chuno, but currently it’s You’re My Spring (at least, that’s what I think it’s called) from Secret Garden.
    Day 07: Your Favorite Line/s by a Male Lead Character – Pretty much everything Naueri says in the Damo tent scene.*sniff*sniff*
    Day 08: Your Favorite Line/s by a Female Lead Character – In QOR when HTH goes to the car park and finds that her car has been egged and she says, “Am I Guem Jan Di? Is Goo Yong Shik a flower boy? Because they saw something like that they’re being really childish.” Then as she’s going through the carwash she starts singing ” I will survive!” along with the radio. I don’t know why this tickled me so much, but I had to press the pause button while I got the giggles out.
    Day 09: Your Favorite Line/s by a Male Third Wheel – In You’re Beautiful when Jeremy tells Hwan Tae Kyung, “Not telling her you waited is the same as not waiting, you idiot!”
    Day 10: Your Favorite Line/s by a Female Third Wheel – Technically, I don’t know if you can call her a third wheel, but she is the second female lead so I’ll go with it. In Midas when Jung Yun tells In Hye, “Unlike you, once I form a bond with someone I don’t just toss them away.” You go girl!
    Day 11; Your Favorite Dialogue – In City Hall, the scene in the restaurant when Mi RAe confronts Jo Gook after he breaks up with her, or the scene where Mi Rae confronts Jo Gooks fiancee in the restaurant, or the proposal scene, or…okay, City Hall had some of the best dialogue ever.
    Day 12: Your Favorite Story – The Devil – It really made me think about right & wrong, good & evil, the power of forgiveness of others and of self. One of the few dramas where I didn’t hit the fast forward button.
    Day 13: Your Favorite “I Love You” – I’m a hopeless romantic, so they all get to me. But if I have to pick, then probably Eun Chan to Han Kyul in Coffee Price, or Ha Dan Ah to Lee Kang Suk in Family’s Honor. Hhmm…I’m a sucker for those romantic leading men, but both my picks are the female leads confessions.
    Day 14: Your Favorite Kiss – Any kiss where both parties are actively participating is good with me. I can’t stand it when the woman stands there like a fence post!
    Day 15: Your Favorite Ending – City Hall, Queen of Reversals (because it was such a pleasant surprise)
    Day 16: A Kdrama you started but can’t finish – Tropical Nights in December, ugh! Please Marry me. double ugh! and a head-desk on top!
    Day 17: A Kdrama you’ve watched more than once – I’ve never watched a series through completely a second time. I do go back and re watch my favorite scenes over and over again though!
    Day 18: The Worst Kdrama that you’ve watched until the end – Stairway to Heaven. It made me want to poke my eyes out but I didn’t have a step brother who was obsessed with me and willing to off himself so he could donate his corneas for me. Mary Stayed Out All Night – I should have stayed away. Too bad to even make fun of. Only my affection for the 3 leads kept me going.
    Day 19: Your Best Actor – I love Go Soo’s intensity and the emotion in his eyes, although I don’t usually like his dramas on the whole.
    Day 20: Your Best Actress – Not sure if they’re the best actresses around, but I find them appealing – Kim Sun Ah and Ha Ji Won
    Day 21: Your Worst Actor – How about worst performance by an actor? Kim Hyun Joong in BBF
    Day 22: Your Worst Actress – Again, how about worst performance by an actress? Go Hye Sun in BBF*ducks and hides* Sorry GHS fans, but I thought her performance there was lackluster at best.
    Day 23: Your Best Couple – Mae Ri & Jo Gook in City Hall (amazing chemistry), Eun Chan & Han Kyul in Coffee Prince(they looked so natural together) Jung In & Hyun Soo in Smile, You (cutest couple ever), and Dan Ah & Kang Suk in Family’s Honor (true attraction of opposites)
    Day 24: Your Worst Couple – Jandi & Jun Po in BBF – See explanation under worst actress
    Day 25: Your First Kdrama – Coffee Prince
    Day 26: Your Recently Finished Kdrama – My Princess – if you can count all the fast forwarding I did.
    Day 27: A Kdrama loved by many but you don’t seem to like – My Name is Kim Sam Soon. In spite of my admiration for Kim Sun Ah. Hyun Bin was handsome, but i pretty much disliked him throughout the whole thing.
    Day 28: A Kdrama not loved by many but you seem to like – Family’s Honor. the acting wasn’t that great, the writing was uneven, the storyline went off the rails, there were too many birth secrets, and it was too long…but, there was just something about it that got to me. I was completely drawn in to the love story between Dan Ah & Kang Suk.
    Day 29: A Kdrama which made you so happy – SKKS was too cute until the last few episodes. Smile, you made me smile until it got an extension. HHmm…I’m feeling difficult to please.
    Day 30: A Kdrama which made you so sad – Damo..nuff said.
    Whew!! That took me longer than I thought!

  16. Hi! I want to take on the challenge. I’ve been watching Kdramas for a short time now (began August, 2010) so my list is not very long, just about 30 completed dramas. I came late to the party, but I’ve been busy catching up!
    Here are my answers, sorry I cheated in some questions and answered more than once:
    Day 01: Your Favorite Kdrama – So far… Qué Será Será
    Day 02: Your Favorite Male Lead Character – Lee Sun Joon (Micky Yoochun)
    Day 03: Your Favorite Female Lead Character – Go Mi Nam /Go Mi Nyu (Park Shin Hye) She was so sweet and innocent.
    Day 04: Your Favorite Male Third Wheel Character – Gin Gook (Taecyeon in Dream High) God I love that boy! Come to noona, sweety!
    Day 05: Your Favorite Female Third Wheel Character Seoul (Kim Sa Rang in Secret Garden)
    Day 06: Your Favorite Song from a Kdrama OST – Green Rose by Just (Green Rose ost) and Too Love by Junsun (Sungkyunkwan Scandal OST)
    Day 07: Your Favorite Line/s by a Male Lead Character – In City Hall Jo Gook to Mi Rae: “Don’t loose to me”, followed in close second by “Game Over” in Personal Taste.
    Day 08: Your Favorite Line/s by a Female Lead Character – In Prosecutor Princess Hye Rie to In Woo“I love you, you bastard. That’s why even if you have to hurt me in the future, just tell me that you’re sorry.”
    Day 09: Your Favorite Line/s by a Male Third Wheel – In Brilliant Legacy Jun-Se to Eun-Sung:“I don’t want to be like a brother to you anymore. I want to be your man.”
    Day 10: Your Favorite Line/s by a Female Third Wheel – Don’t remember
    Day 11; Your Favorite Dialogue – Arrggh can’t choose!
    Day 12: Your Favorite Story – The Devil
    Day 13: Your Favorite “I Love You” – In Prosecutor Princess: “I love you, you bastard.”
    Day 14: Your Favorite Kiss – Tae Joo and Eun Soo in the elevator in Qué sera sera. Because it was Eric, and because the kiss was hot. But mostly because Eun Soo liked it so much, she told Tae Joo and asked him to do it again. keke. Followed in close second by THE Kiss in City Hall.
    Day 15: Your Favorite Ending – My Name is Kim Sam Soon, very realistic. They didn’t get to marry but continue together as a couple.
    Day 16: A Kdrama you started but can’t finish – Damo, for my own sanity, I stopped at episode 12.
    Day 17: A Kdrama you’ve watched more than once – Que Será Será (5), BOF (3), Personal Taste (3), MNIKSS (2), Coffe Prince (2)
    Day 18: The Worst Kdrama that you’ve watched until the end – Prince’s First Love
    Day 19: Your Best Actor – Hyun Bin
    Day 20: Your Best Actress – Moon Geun Young
    Day 21: Your Worst Actor – Don’t know
    Day 22: Your Worst Actress – Don’t know
    Day 23: Your Best Couple – Song Seung Hun and Kim Tae Hee in My Princess
    Day 24: Your Worst Couple – Kwon Sang Woo and Yoonah in Cinderella Man
    Day 25: Your First Kdrama – Boys over flowers, still one of my favorites.
    Day 26: Your Recently Finished Kdrama – The Scale of Providence. Thanks Thundie for the recommendation!!
    Day 27: A Kdrama loved by many but you don’t seem to like – Return of Iljimae. *Ducks for cover*.
    Day 28: A Kdrama not loved by many but you seem to like – Lovers
    Day 29: A Kdrama which made you so happy – Dream High
    Day 30: A Kdrama which made you so sad Sad to the point of sobbing so loudly my hubby was scared: Green Rose and The Scale of Providence, also Winter Sonata and Damo (see Day 16) . But I guess injustice affects me more than tragic love.

  17. I wanted to do this, too, but I haven’t watched too many dramas so I might end up using just 4-6 dramas for the answers… -_-” Maybe next year

  18. Man I wish I had the stamina to do this – actually energy i can muster but not knowledge. I don’t know enough characters or actors names – would have to use descriptions like the girl with the bulging eyes who looks depressed all the time for the worst actress category.Curious why so many skipped the worst actor/actress questions – is it cuz there were too many to choose from? Certainly it can’t be cuz there aren’t any cuz I have more of those than the ones I liked. Like i said before, if this had been about American dramas and not Kdramas, I would’ve kicked butt.
    Still – it was a blast to read thundie. Now I really want to watch return of iljimae. Sorry excuse but his wig bothered me – at least I hope it was a wig. YAI rocked his, but sadly with JIW, the urge to run a comb thru his distracted me too much to watch the drama itself. Since you loved it so much – gonna give it a fair shot this time around.

  19. 30-Day Kdrama Challenge
    Day 01: Your Favorite Kdrama– Pass… Too Many
    Day 02: Your Favorite Male Lead Character — Seo In Woo in Prosecutor Princess.. simply, he gives me warmth feeling…
    Day 03: Your Favorite Female Lead Character — Hye Mi in Dream High. One of the main reason I watch Dream high, I love watching her growth.
    Day 04: Your Favorite Male Third Wheel Character — Scheduler in 49 days
    Day 05: Your Favorite Female Third Wheel Character — Young Mi in All About eve…
    the first time I love antagonist character and cried like a baby for her at the end of the drama.
    Yoo He Yi in You Are beautiful… I love watching her. One of the main reason I enjoyed watching YAB because I can’t get enough of her antics…
    Day 06: Your Favorite Song from a Kdrama OST — giant Instrumental, prosecutor Princess instrumental
    Day 07: Your Favorite Line/s by a Male Lead Character — Pass
    Day 08: Your Favorite Line/s by a Female Lead Character ” I know I won’t be able to live until I’m 77. I feel like I’m going to die of cancer from all of the stress you’ve caused me. So how do you expect me to live until I’m 77? ”
    Day 09: Your Favorite Line/s by a Male Third Wheel: “Your drama has a long way to go before it’s over. So don’t force yourself to go quickly. If you go slowly, you can see a lot more, in more detail, than the people who go quickly. If you ask me who would grow more between those two, I’d say it’s the one who goes slowly and sees a lot.” — Kang Oh Hyuk (Dream High)
    Day 10: Your Favorite Line/s by a Female Third Wheel
    Day 11; Your Favorite Dialogue — The dialogue between hye mi and sam dong at the end of the drama in Dream High. It’s too touching and the first time I Cried so hard for Hye Mi’s Character and applaud for her at the same time! .
    Day 12: Your Favorite Story —
    A story where an antagonist and protagonist become blur,
    A love story who make me feel warmth
    Day 13: Your Favorite “I Love You” — Love confession in Prosecutor Princess
    Day 14: Your Favorite Kiss — 2nd Kiss in Coffee House, 1st kiss in Prosecutor Princess
    Day 15: Your Favorite Ending — pass
    Day 16: A Kdrama you started but can’t finish — My Princess… maybe next time I can continue when I need dozen of cute scene
    Day 17: A Kdrama you’ve watched more than once: You’re Beautiful, Prosecutor Princess
    Day 18: The Worst Kdrama that you’ve watched until the end — pass
    Day 19: Your Best Actor — pass
    Day 20: Your Best Actress — pass
    Day 21: Your Worst Actor –pass
    Day 22: Your Worst Actress — pass
    Day 23: Your Best Couple — Sorry, I can’t choose: Han Ji Min – Kang Ji Hwan in Capital Scandal, Park Shi Hoo – Kim So Yeon In Prosecutor Princess, Hwang Jun Eum – Joo Sang Wook in Giant.. No reason why i love them. Just love watching them together.
    Day 24: Your Worst Couple
    Day 25: Your First Kdrama — All About Eve
    Day 26: Your Recently Finished Kdrama — Dream High
    Day 27: A Kdrama loved by many but you don’t seem to like — Joseon X-Files… *hides*
    Day 28: A Kdrama not loved by many but you seem to like — Prosecutor princess…
    Day 29: A Kdrama which made you so happy — You Are Beautiful
    Day 30: A Kdrama which made you so sad — Comrades

  20. Suzy in Dream High…I’ve never felt this disconnected from an actress before and I think I would have loved the drama itself a lot more if it wasnt for her

    Day 23: Your Best Couple
    There are too many shippy OTP out there but I picked these two in the end because they are the closest to what a perfect couple can get to be in real life (IMO): Min Jae and Byung Tae from Life is Beautiful

    Day 24: Your Worst Couple
    Ji Hye and her henpecked husband from Life is Beautiful….It’s funny how my best and worst couple come from the same drama and even more funny that it’s for the exact same reason: This is the kinda relationship that is least likely to work out or remain happy in the long term in real life (again IMO)

    Day 25: Your First Kdrama
    Delightful Girl Choon Hyan

    Day 26: Your Recently Finished Kdrama
    My Princess

    Day 27: A Kdrama loved by many but you don’t seem to like
    Soulmate

    Day 28: A Kdrama not loved by many but you seem to like
    Spring Waltz…There are only a handful of people that I know that even like this one whereas it’s one of my all time favs and the only Seasons drama that I could watch to the end

    Day 29: A Kdrama which made you so happy
    Alone in Love: even now, thinking about it makes me very happy

    Day 30: A Kdrama which made you so sad
    Goodbye Solo: There were so many heartbreaking characters whom I loved dearly

      • the first 22 of the list that got lost somehow
        Day 01: Your Favorite Kdrama:
        You’re Beautiful

        Day 02: Your Favorite Male Lead Character
        Song Sam Dong from Dream High…but I think this is because was the last drama I’ve finished..this is more of a seasonal answer and is bound to change

        Day 03: Your Favorite Female Lead Character
        Eun Jo Cinderella’s sister….the typical kdrama heroine is plucky, cute, candy type who could often be dumb….Eun Jo was a refreshing contrast to this stereotype….gritty, harsh, broken but still has a heart…she was just overall wonderful….of course it helped that she was played by a brilliant Moon Geun Young

        Day 04: Your Favorite Male Third Wheel Character
        Jun Se oppa of Brilliant Legacy…no oppa can beat this one!

        Day 05: Your Favorite Female Third Wheel Character
        This was hard because once again female third wheels are just so crappily writtten…they’re ususally more of caricatures than character…anyeays I really wanted to pick Choi Miri of Goodbye Solo here but since she’s not really a tird wheel there I’m gonna go with Kim So Eun’s Yoo Jin from the Man who cant get married.

        Day 06: Your Favorite Song from a Kdrama OST
        Fox Rain from My Girlfriend is a Gumiho

        Day 07: Your Favorite Line/s by a Male Lead Character
        Same as my favorite I love you….yes, its cheezy but it’s cheez of the best kind 🙂

        Day 08: Your Favorite Line/s by a Female Lead Character
        skip

        Day 09: Your Favorite Line/s by a Male Third Wheel
        Whatever Jeremy says before and after the bus scene inYou’re Beautiful

        Day 10: Your Favorite Line/s by a Female Third Wheel
        skip

        Day 11; Your Favorite Dialogue
        All of the monologues in Goodbye Solo and even the World that the Live in…No Hee Kyung is love 🙂

        Day 12: Your Favorite Story
        Goodbye Solo..even though that is more of an assortment of stories

        Day 13: Your Favorite “I Love You”
        Hwang Tae Jyung in that last concert scene in You’re Beautiful: “Listen carefully because I’m going to be saying this everyday..I love you”
        anyoone who’s watched thsi show will know that the reason why this is so swoonworthy is because of the way he had told her I like you in the airport scene two episodes before

        Day 14: Your Favorite Kiss
        This was HARD…harder than all the other questions put together…and I actually thought it wouldn’t be because kdramas are famous for having those non-kiss lip touches and calling them kisses…but there were a lot of real kisses in a lot of my dramas that I loved…eventually I picked one that I like to rewatch a lot just for the kiss :p …Goong episode 3 kiss

        Day 15: Your Favorite Ending
        Dream High..i loved the ending way more than the drama itself…..one of the best ending I have seen for a drama in recent years

        Day 16: A Kdrama you started but can’t finish
        Way too many to list..but the last i decided to drop was Crime Squad

        Day 17: A Kdrama you’ve watched more than once
        hmmmmm…I dont actually rewatch whole dramas more liek my favorite scenes for each episode and I dont even do this much anymore except for some of the first dramas I’ve watched ann You’re Beautiful…I think I’ll go with You’re Beautiful

        Day 18: The Worst Kdrama that you’ve watched until the end
        Its a tie between My Fair Lady and Mary Stayed Out all Night

        Day 19: Your Best Actor
        Kam Woo Sung

        Day 20: Your Best Actress
        Moon Geun Young

        Day 21: Your Worst Actor
        This was difficult because I dont dislike any of them even of they suck…I realize that I’m particularly ard on actresses than I’m on actors….I wonder if that has any meaning…..anyways I’ll go with Kim Hyun Joong

  21. Pingback: Blue’s 30-Day K-Drama Challenge | electric ground

  22. Pingback: 30 Days KDrama Challenge # 01 | Rae's Love N Fever

  23. Pingback: 30 Day KDrama Challenge « Here's the Story, Morning Glory

  24. Pingback: Blue’s 30-Day K-Drama Challenge » Electric Ground

  25. Pingback: 30 Ngày Thử Thách: Phim Yêu Thích Nhất 2011 | Xà Lách Kim Chi

Have your say

