Sungkyunkwan Scandal Episode 18: Live Recap

Every morning after a recap, the first thing I reach for is my iPad to check how many misses and how many hits I got. Some of my guesses end up dead on and I beam, but then there are those inevitable oversights and a cloud lingers and I track down exactly what I misunderstood and go edit it ASAP.

It has nothing to do with pride, but everything to do with accuracy. It was my sole intent from day one to recap only the parts I understand fully, but if the nuances of a scene are strong, I go with it and insert my guesses.

You have to take into consideration things like typos that disrupt the flow of the sentence or MJS’s longing ( lingering gazes) that make me lose focus (I am only human you know) and I miss an important line of dialogue or action sometimes. For those lapses, I rely on other Soompiers to fill in the gap.

In an ideal world, you would have someone like Blue Angel recapping live, but she doesn’t live in Korea. Trust me, I wish she did more than you. Just look at what she posted on Soompi:

“Hwang Gam Je is an in-school exam. Civil service exam is a state exam in order to work for the government. LSJ placed as jangwon (first place) for the so-gwa, which is the exam he took in episode 1 or 2. So-gwa is the first step of the civil service exam, and you are required to pass it to get into Sungkyunkwan. After Sungkyunkwan, the scholar has to take dae-gwa, which is the final step of the civil service exam. This entitles you to government post. ”

“And for scripture recitation : Have to remember Four Books and Three Classics……” From my understanding, the Four Books are “Great Learning,” “Doctrine of the Mean,” “Analects of Confucius,” and “Mencius.” There are actually Five titles classified as “Five Classics,” but here, LSJ specifically said “Three Classics.” Perhaps they’re getting tested on three of the five classics?”

Do you know why you’ll NEVER see info like this on this recap?

Because I could never be THIS knowledgeable, she just exudes wisdom from every core of her being. I read it like five times and I still don’t understand half of what she wrote because my brain turns to mush partway.

No way am I that fluent. I couldn’t spell half the things she wrote about – I still can’t get the three dads straight and use the excuse of typing fast to use abbreviations — when in truth — I can’t tell their titles apart in Korean to save my life.

Did you see my recap last night? I used descriptions like “bad policeman dude” for the guy who is extorting SJ and IS’s dad. FYI: his name is Yoon Hyung Gyu , but let’s refer to him as Officer Yoon formerly known as Guard Yoon.

Everyone has their own reason for being drawn to the plot or characters. I’m the kind of viewer who finds it amusing that they gave high fives to each other and had couple rings back then.

So bear with me, people, we only have two left after tonight. I don’t know about the rest of you, but the thought of doing my last recap on the 20th episode literally leaves me shaking with overwhelming sorrow. I have never NOT wanted to say goodbye to a show this much in my life. Hope you’ll join us next week and we can all commiserate together. Enjoy the show tonight!!!

I want to thank my friend 1crazynyt for giving me so many beautiful screen caps of Ep 17 to post so quickly! Big hug!

Dramaok and Cecilia, you guys gave me the best translations out there and it was so hard to choose, I ended up combining some of them. Thanks so much for hearing my pleas and sharing your translations for E18 extended trailer. You guys are the best!

Episode 18 Recap

Another cute new cartoon credit.

They started from the hat scene and the kiss.

______

[Inside the room JS and Yeorim are talking]

Yeorim: You know, don’t you? Who is the culprit?
I told you already. The one I trust is not the King, but you, Geol Oh.
We said we’d find him. We said we’d find the mastermind no matter what, for that surreal new Joseon…

JS: The left-state minister is the one behind all these incidents.

Yeorim: What?

JS: Lower your voice or else!

Yeorim: So you’re saying… the mastermind behind all these incidents, is the left-state minister? LSJ’s father?
What happened to Professor Kim Seung-hun and Sungkyunkwan student president Moon Young-shin… I mean, all these incidents that were linked to the destruction of Geumdeungjisa… The Left State Minister is the one who masterminded all these? I’m asking you!

JS: I told you to lower your voice.

____________

(Yhee appears with SJ)

Yhee: What did you say, Senior?
Who did you just say was the mastermind behind all these incidents?
I must hear it.

Yeorim: I’m sorry, Daemul. Nothing is confirmed yet.

SJ: Is it true that once we find out who the owner of this document is, then we can confirm who the mastermind is?
Will it be fine if I looked into it?

Yeorim: Will you be able to?

SJ: If my father is really the mastermind, then am I not the one most suited for it?

As SJ leaves the room, he places his hand on Yhee’s shoulder.

____

*YH and JS drink and YH asks if JS wanted to give up because JS is being considerate to Yhee and YH guesses that JS knows about SJ and Yhee and feels bad for JS.

YH: Is it because of Daemul? The reason why you didn’t want to continue … was it because Kim Yoon Shik’s heart might get hurt because of SJ? When did those two…? Wait… how did you know…?

LSJ left… He went to go meet his father to confirm the owner of the land.

JS doesn’t answer and keeps pouring and drinking.

(so this scene clearly shows that JS and YH both know that Yhee and SJ are in a relationship).

____

SJ confronts his dad and asks his father if he is the owner of the land and his dad tells SJ to stop looking for the GDJS and not be involved in looking for it anymore. Then he says something about the whole thing with the King and the King’s dad and explains it all to SJ (and they lost me).

SJ asks his father if his father was responsible for everything: the deaths and all, and his father says he didn’t do anything wrong but SJ points to all the evidence and his father yells at SJ for turning his back on his father.

Not sure but as he as leaving I think he said something hurtful to his dad like he didn’t want to be his son or doesn’t believe him or something — total guess because I never heard those words before (guessed that based on the ominous music score and SJ tearing up and bowing to his father like it would be the last time he sees him or something).

*****Ronar eloquently translated this:

And at the end of the conversation with his father, LSJ told his father, the left state minister, that from now on he intends to be his ‘political enemy’.

The state minister said that he never once regret to have Crown Prince Sado (King Jungjo’s father) killed by the late king. It was for the good of the people and the nation. LSJ asks him why then he’s afraid of GDJS. The minister’s answer was impressive. He’s not afraid of GDJS, but he’s afraid of the irrational, emotional responses that will be caused by the letter full of regret written by the late king. Human emotion should never get in the way of sane political decision-making process. It is very common that fathers and sons become political enemies.

So SJ tells his father that he, the pride of his father, the perfect son, is going to be the arch political enemy of the minister.

________________

Yhee is alone and remembers what YH said earlier about SJ’s dad being the criminal. JS goes to her and says it’s late and that if she doesn’t sleep and just read, she won’t grow tall.

***As they walk home together, he carries some books for her and she rambles on about some books and how Norons might have been afraid of something and JS cuts her off and tells her “to think slowly, one by one “and he tells her to go in and sleep because he is going avoid her bad sleeping habit and go to YH’s room. As she takes the books from him, JS sees the ring on her finger. Before he can walk off, she asks: “Senior, do you think it’s true? Something must have gone wrong… right? (referring to SJ’s dad being the criminal — like it must be a mistake). JS only tells her to not worry too much and that when JS comes back, she’ll know the details.

______________

[scene with Yeorim and Yhee]

Yhee: I… think I better go out there.

Yeorim: It’s already time. He will come. Lee Seonjoon. This is something that happened over 10 years ago. Just because you go outside and wait, the truths that exist will neither disappear nor change.

_____________

On the street outside, JS is trying desperately to talk SJ out of going in and telling Yhee the truth about SJ’s father.

JS: Don’t do it. The land registry certificate is something that we don’t know about. It’s something that has nothing to do with you. Just say that. The secret mission is to find the Geumdeungjisa. I also intend to stop trying to find out who the mastermind behind this is.

SJ: Why would we do that? We couldn’t decipher the code in the secret instructions, therefore, as of now, the only clue we can have for finding Geumdeungjisa is to find the culprit and the mastermind. So then, why should we stop? Furthermore, in order to find the truth about the mastermind, you have…

JS: That’s right. It is a cowardly thing for me to stay silent when the truth is front of me. I, who scorned such a thing, am now choosing to shut my mouth. So if you are thinking of trying to show off how honest and honorable and proud you are again, then just stop it at once.

SJ: Senior…

JS: When people become cowardly, it’s because they want to protect someone. Kim Yoon Shik, isn’t he someone like that to you? (grabbing SJ’s shoulder to stop him) Do you think that kid will be able to forgive you?

***SJ: Before I can say I am sorry, the culprit should admit to his crime first that is what I know (my guess). More than that, Senior, KYS is not the only person I need to seek forgiveness from. I’ll try very hard to not let KYS get hurt. (and SJ gently pulls JS hands off his shoulder and walks away)

(I LOVE this scene so much)

___________

inside the room

[scene with Yhee, SJ, and Yeorim but Yeorim leaves the room to give them privacy]

Yhee: What did you just say…? So…

SJ: The land document that went to the Hanseongbu (capitol) government official is indeed my father’s, is what I said.

Yhee: So… the one who did that to my father… is really the Left-State Minister? Is that what you are saying now?

SJ: You can’t understand what I said?

***And she says I don’t understand any of this and tries to leave, but he stops her by holding onto her but she says “Stop… don’t make me listen to this anymore, it’s too cruel” and he lets her go.

And YH tries to go after her but JS stops him and lets SJ go after her.

SJ catches up to her on the street and places his hand on her shoulder and says, “If I could, I want to ask for forgiveness on his behalf. If you can’t forgive, I’ll have to accept that too. But if you give me permission, I want to do everything I can… from finding the witness (guess), finding the missing GDJS… I want to see this through all the way to the end.

Yhee (crying) : Saying all that now after ….(don’t get the first line) GDJS? What will finding it change?

As she turns to leave, he tries to hold her arm to stop her and he says, “What about me?” And she says she needs time, time to think and she leaves him on the street.

______

YH and JS come out and sees how sad SJ looks.

YH: Hey Lee Sun Joon, you don’t know do you?

Most people at times like this need a drinking buddy.

If not, let’s forget the drinks, you can at least use a friend right?

{as they walk up the stairs in a single file with SJ in the front, as JS starts to walk up, YH playfully pats JS’s butt. LOL. the look JS gives YH makes YH step back like he is scared for a second- PRICELESS- sorry couldn’t resist pointing that out}

_______

Guard Yoon and IS’s dad strike a deal and IS’s dad gives Guard Yoon a lot of money to pay off Yoon’s debts and go hide quietly in the country. Chosun is there listening and pouring the drink.

_____

Yhee goes home and is dressed as a girl and she is asking her mom to tell her about her father and how he died and her mom says it’s her duty not to speak of it because of the reasons behind his death (is what I think she said). Yhee says, “So it’s true that Father died unfairly” and that her mom should have told Yhee from the start.

She sits on her porch with her brother and they share memories of their father.

Yhee: what kind of person do you think father was YS? whenever I thought of father, a cold wind blew through my heart. When father placed you on his lap and read to you, your sister’s seat was always outside the door. So whenever I thought of father, I couldn’t picture his face. All I could remember was his silhouette through the door.

[They flash back to little Yhee staring at her father’s form through the door]

YS: Sister, you really didn’t know? Father always read aloud in a loud voice near the door [they continue to flash to a scene where her father is reading aloud looking over to the door periodically while a little boy plays with a toy in his lap throughout YS’s speech] He always chose books that were too hard for a little boy like me. Instead of me, father was always reading aloud for you, sister, the one outside the door. Sister, you’re saying you didn’t know that all this time?

Yhee’s father’s narration: I ‘m worried about how well my daughter is improving in (Literature? I’m guessing) — (something beautiful about how much her father wished he could have nurtured her talents and that she was a teacher’s dream student) — I’m a helpless father who is unable to give his gifted child the chance to study and it breaks my heart.

[I might not have gotten some of the exact wording right, but most of it was correct, I think. This is the scene where she realizes just how wrong she was about her father and that’s why she is crying so much — I admit this scene got to me and I actually started tearing up a little]

__________

*Yhee goes to see PJ and asks, “Isn’t it possible that my father died trying to prevent someone from stealing the GDJS.”…. and then she asks why her dad decided to do such a dangerous thing and he tells her that her father gave his life to give his gifted child new opportunities.

[There was more but that was all I understood]

________

Yhee figures out the GDJS is inside SKK and they figure out where but I don’t get this part.

_____

*****Yhee is trying to reach for a scroll she can’t quite get and SJ gets it for her and sees that she isn’t wearing her ring and she confesses that she thought she should take it off (under these circumstances).

Yhee (crying — explains herself) : I always misunderstood my father and thought he didn’t like putting up with someone like me… I didn’t see my father for who he was…. (guessed)

I want to find out… I want to know why my father wanted to find the GDJS that much.

This might be the first and last time I have the chance to understand my father.

I made my father lonely for too long, that’s why I….

SJ wipes her tears and says, “Enough. You can stop explaining; I understood it all. I promise — no matter what I have to do — I’m going to find the GDJS.

[SJ smiles sweetly at her and walks away]

_____

IS and SJ’s dad meet and SJ’s dad says he thinks the the King ordered some scholars to find GDJS, including his own son so I think he told IS’s dad to get IS to look into it. IS’s dad points out that if SJ’s dad had listened to him and had SJ get engaged sooner and leave SKK, SJ wouldnt be involved in looking for the GDJS.

But SJ’s dad’s comeback is that the one who started this whole mess to begin with was IS’s dad for having Yhee’s dad and JS’s bro killed off ten yrs ago and now they are having to deal with Officer Yoon’s extortion. So SJ’s dad calls off the marriage saying that he doesnt want to be aligned on a personal level with IS’s dad’s family which infuriates IS’s dad.

IS’s dad vows to show what kind of person he is to SJ’s dad. He says all this to Chosun and says he has something for her to do and grabs her hand and then IS comes in. ( that task turns out to be for Chosun to kill Officer Yoon)

___________

*****SJ looks all over town with a sketch of Officer Yoon, looking for him and doesn’t keep track of the time and YH, Yhee, and JS wait for SJ. YH guesses that SJ is having a hard time and JS says, “Let’s give him a few more minutes, he is not the type to go back on his promise.”

YH: Don’t you have to not keep a promise like this to be human? [even though following a royal decree is important (guess)], it must be hard for a son to uncover his own father’s criminal acts. I totally understand what LSJ is going through.

__________

SJ YH and Yhee try to figure out from the clues where the book is, based on what they know about the campus. And JS says, “”Look where the world starts.” Yhee tries to follow that clue by looking under all the name stands and YH bribes a guard to get his keys to check another place but none of them find anything.

OMG, why are they talking like this because I don’t get it. Yhee said she has another place she wants to check, I think – (no clue).

_________

IS goes up to YH and says “you look like you are having fun hanging out with MJS and LSJ, Yeorim. Taking into consideration our past history, I’ll give you some advice. You dont belong with them. You are different from them”

YH looks uneasy for a moment like he is nervous but then he recovers and goes into his usual joking mode and tells IS how YH is known to be the most fashionable dresser in Joseon and he knows a thing or two about style and he calls IS’s outfit “tacky”. When the lackeys offer to go after YH, IS says “Leave him alone. Today is the last time he can joke around like that”

________

SJ checks the gambling halls for Officer Yoon and gets into a fight with some guys when one of them starts punching SJ (probably because he looks good and rich). SJ fights back and gets in a few punches but ends up on the floor getting kicked around.

*Ronar’s impression of this scene:

I was touched by the expression on SJ’s face when he was beaten and kicked by the gambling men. He seemed rather to be relieved in physical, palpable pain. So although he’s a much better fighter, he just let go and chose to be beaten. Heart-wrenching. Micky ever faintly smiled and it was heartbreaking.

___________

***Yhee is poring over a stack of books alone for a long time, it seems, so JS wordlessly places a rice ball for her to eat on top of a book and is about to walk away when YH runs in and yells, “SJ got in some trouble!” which startles Yhee and all three go to where SJ is (the gambling hall).

As soon as YH sees SJ, YH asks, “Are you the LSJ I know?” [because of all the bruises on SJ’s face] and YH is surprised that SJ would persist even in this condition and asks SJ why and SJ answers, “To find out the truth about what happened that night ten years ago.”

YH warns SJ that if they find the GDJS that SJ might not be able to live well off as a Minister’s son and if he is okay with that and SJ says, “no matter how I live, it’s better than living as the son of a criminal.”

Yhee goes outside and SJ follows her out. Yhee tells him to stop if SJ is doing it for her. She says she can’t even remember her father’s face, but it hurts so much (something something) but SJ thinks of his father as an (ideal ???) one so she gives him permission to stop because she can’t watch anymore.

***And he back-hugs her and says crying, “I wanted your forgiveness — for having to fill your father’s shoes and take on all the burdens and have to disguise yourself as a man — for having to take care of a sick brother and work to get his medicine — for every time you had to endure cold, hunger, and loneliness, I wanted to erase those memories for you (??) — During that time, not knowing anything, reading in a warm room — I thought I shouldn’t be forgiven, but I was so sorry. If I could turn back time, I wish I could make it up to you /endure all that for you, so I wanted to say that I ask for your forgiveness.”

(hardest speech to translate EVER)

____

YH sits down next to JS and says:

Lee Sun Joon has a way of surprising you the more you get to know him.

He respects his father so much, but he’s going to turn his back on his father with all his dying strength.

You know that well, that there is no worse hell than living with the hatred you feel for your own father.

____

Alone in a room, SJ’s dad thinks about the last words SJ said to him.

“I, your son, will become father’s political enemy”

____

The king asks PJ about the kids’ progress and how much of the clues they pieced together and something I didn’t catch.

____

Just as SJ finds Officer Yoon, Chosun dressed as HBS shows up and tries to kill the Officer but SJ intervenes and fights her off with his hands and when he can’t, he uses his body to shield the Officer. But just as she is about to cut SJ down, JS comes to the rescue and fights her off without a sword and easily grabs her arm where she was injured last time I think or maybe because he twists her arm, she is easily subdued and she ends up dropping her sword. While he holds her arm, JS asks SJ, “Why do you walk so fast, I almost died trying to catch up with you”. Chosun takes the opportunity then to break free and JS runs after her.

The guard tries to sneak away from SJ, but SJ grabs hold of him.

JS and CS fight bare-fisted and of course, JS manages to hold her in an arm lock long enough to pull down her mask and confirm his suspicions. She wrestles free and runs off and JS lets her get away and says, “I was right; it was Chosun.”

(Now that I think about it, not so sure how much I like the fact that he fought a girl and pretty much kicked her butt too. On the plus side, forget this love line ever happening; zero attraction between them. Zilch-nada.)

_____

Yhee remembers PJ’s words and pieces some clues together -and she thinks GDJS is not at SKK but somewhere else and runs off to find it. She is seen by the two lackeys and they report it to IS. He goes to where she was and finds the book she was reading, but the pages have been torn out by her.

____

SJ and JS corner the Officer Yoon and try to get him to talk about what the Officer saw and he refuses to answer. JS asks him to reconsider since Chosun tried to kill the Officer and the Officer is surprised she would do such a thing and finds it amusing.

____

The guard tells SJ and JS who is responsible for all that and I think it’s IS’s dad the War Minister.

JS: You haven’t found KYS yet? What are you doing not going out and looking? Shouldn’t that person be the first to know the truth that the War Minister is the mastermind? I’m glad — for your sake and my sake. It would be tiring to hate you for the rest of my life”

JS tells SJ to go find Yhee and YH guesses that IS knows where Yhee went and that she may be in danger.

Yhee walks into a memorial hall looking place and she stands in front of one of them and all these guards are on their way to where she is and IS’s father orders the destruction of GDJS.

JS reminds SJ what of SJ’s promise and JS detains the guards dressed as HBS and shoots some arrows at their feet.

JS to SJ: You promised that Kim Yoon Shik won’t get hurt.

SJ: Senior.

JS (puts a hand on SJ’s shoulder): I’ll try to hold off the guards.

JS fights off the guards, but he is outnumbered. During the fight, his sword is knocked out of his hand.

Meanwhile SJ goes and finds Yhee and hugs her.

OMG if anything happens to JS…. OMG… OMG… a guard’s sword slashes JS’s chest…

End

No preview

*Here is Cecilia’s recap of the last ten minutes (right around the time I started to feel uneasy about poor JS):

Sunjoon and Jaeshin find out that it’s the war minister who was the one who ordered to have the 2 killed.
The left minister only played the role of covering up the crime.

At the same time, Yongha finds out it was the war minister who put the left minister’s name on the land certificate (by bribing the guard).

And at the same time, Yoonhee… She’s trying to solve the puzzle/riddle left behind by her father.
The last line says that the Geumdeungjisa is hidden at a place where Joseon began.
At first they thought it was Sungkyunkwan, but they couldn’t find anything in SKK.
As she goes through more books, Yoonhee figures out that that night 10 years ago where her father and Moon Young Shin would have entered the city.
She followed what she thinks would have been the route and comes to the conclusion that it is not SKK but the ‘Jongmyo’ where Joseon began (it’s like a temple where all the tablets of the deceased kings and queens are kept)… She looks through books and is convinced that she’s right.
She rips the map out and rushes to Jongmyo.
This action is observed by Insoo’s gang and Insoo concludes that Yoonhee has found the GDJS.
Insoo and the war minister centre forces around Jongmyo.
They see this as the last chance to really get rid of the GDJS.

——————-

(posted 10/30)some people were asking what I typed on the night of the broadcast that had so many people leaving me comments to cheer me up and try to calm me down so here is the whole freak out scene in full (I had deleted them right after I had calmed down cuz it was kinda unprofessional of me to lose it like that, but now that I’ve had some time to mull it over, I guess the hysteria was warranted and I probably said what hundreds of other people were thinking too)  

omg now i need to go hit something and scream – how could they do that to MJS?????!!!!!!!   arghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
if they kill off JS…..I am not recapping anymore….omg  I am so upset….someone for the love of god tell me if he survives….does anyone know any spoilers…..but how do you survive that?  the guy just literally took his sword and the blade went down his front – what happened to JS’s blade? did it get knocked out of his hand???? I need Torrents people!!!!!!
till the very last minute the camera showed his face and it wasnt chosun-her death I could live with trust me – i thought for a second she would come and help him out but why would she? she has nothing to gain…..how do you survive a fatal wound back then? someone please give me possible scenarios ………someone give me hope….a lifeline…..arggghghhghgghg
all this time i have not hated one episode until tonight….gaaawwdddd so much boring talk….but I endured……i never gave up hope….until the last shot of poor JS………omg where are those torrents!!!!!!
could someone please post proof that his character is alive and kicking in future episodes ?????anyone???shirley??any bts footage?? then i can function and translate those few good scenes……omg – I am in so much shock right now- did anyone else see this coming? was i the only one in the dark?????
i am so upset – words cant even beging to describe how upset I am…what i dont get is- where did all his fighting skills go—he fought off Chosun easily enough and he has fought off more men than this – did he get rusty from not being HBS for a while????????????
oh thank god – torrents…..can rewatch it in two mins or less….korea has fast internet speed…..
his sword got knocked out of his hand and he did get sliced !!!!!! there was no avoiding it – he took the blow and you can see his face and the pain as he goes down!!!!!!!
are you sure blue? you promise??????
ok then I will translate that moving scene with Yhee and her bro and the back hug scene for sure….not sure how I can even look at any JS scenes cuz this wound is too fresh right now…..
——————– 
Sorry for losing it, everyone — I am calm now — well … Getting there — will go back to being professional now.

Translations for a few key scenes will have asterisks next to them.

———————-

(OMG, I turned on the video and saw his face and now I am crying… CRYING… like tears and all… even though I know he won’t die like blue promised… OMG… the things this poor guy did for the person he loves… and she has NO CLUE… she will NEVER know probably… just how much he loved her… always putting her happiness before his…. OMG…can’t stop…)

I tried to remain professional till the end and I did — the whole time I reported what happened — while I was screaming for torrents – no tears and now just as I am about to type translations — floodgates open — first time translating AND crying — still surprisingly … I’m functioning… sorry thundie… bet you didn’t see this coming… your guest blogger losing it…. [sweetie, it’s totally okay to lose it; I did, too. *hugs* –thundie]

I never wrote with a broken heart before… Trying not to think about it and just focusing on the dialogue… So far it’s working.

Much calmer now — thanks everyone for your words of support.

I just realized as I was translating, I can focus much better if I don’t look at their faces — because I swear — sometimes their good looks distract me and I forget what I am supposed to be doing. Like I’ll watch the whole scene and not type anything and just swoon for a little while. 🙂 Any other translators have this problem?

270 thoughts on “Sungkyunkwan Scandal Episode 18: Live Recap

  1. ARGH!!!!! I missed the party… thanks for the recaps. HOW CAN THEY DO THAT TO JAESHIN??? EEEeeeeeeeee!!! I don’t think they will kill kim right? The fans will totally revolt. Aiiiee…

  2. Someone suggested on Soompi that perhaps the one who got slashed at the end of ep 18 was our Yeorim?

    O.M.G. No!!

    I’m so torn between wanting to rewind the scene many times just to be sure it isn’t Moony or Yeorim, but every time the sword comes down I just scream and cover my eyes.

    I don’t want any of our J4 to get hurt, not even a teeny bit!

  3. *** Big Spoiler Warning!

    Thundie, you don’t have to worry about Yeorim. I read the book and according to the digested synopsis of Ep. 19 on the official site, SKKS seems to follow the original storyline from now on. Jaeshin is hurt and Insoo closes his snare on the Red Messenger, and SJ steps up to turn himself in as the RM instead of JS. At first, he counted on his powerful dad to help him in any way, but things go wrong since Byungpan and Insoo hold very personal grudges. JS’s father is the equivalent to the present day Attorney General and he also has a big grudge against SJ’s father as we all know. So SJ gets into this big trouble and the rest of the Fabulous Four will try to get him out.

  4. thundie: OK, we need to go hold softy’s hands now. Group hug, everyone. Poor girl is in hysteria. You have no idea how much softy loves Moon Jae-shin.

    oh, yes i am holding softy’s hand now, and at the same time is wiping tears of sadness from my cheeks… hu hu hu…. i love jae shin tooooooooooooo…. so now, who’s going to hold my hands now….

    and please no one dies, except for paul the octopus….

  5. hi, Softy, I don’t have the book on hand right now (Actually I thought it was just a light romance, entertaining but nothing special, and I gave it away as soon as I finished it, which was the stupidest thing I’ve done in a while *dang*) so speaking from memory, in the book, the event is a lot on a lighter note, since there is no life-and-death political conflict involved. In the book SJ turns himself in because he knows he has better chances because of his father’s powerful status. Of course, in the book, SJ did never have to turn his back on the old man. However, things go wrong in the book, too, since his case gets transferred to the charge of JS’s father, who vowed revenge for his son’s death(it was not for GDJS but anyhow political) So JS goes to his father to ask him to help SJ out but gets locked in the house instead. So Yeorim and YHee go to the rescue of both the men. In the book, you can relax through all the things happening unlike the intense drama series and some episodes are pretty hilarious.

    I’ll check your message out. Thanks for all the warm responses. Really appreciated.

  6. 1. I wish Moon Jae Shin wouldn’t get killed.
    2. I wish Moon Jae Shin could at least get to kiss Yoon Hee.
    3. I wish there would be a sequel to Sungkyunkwan Scandal.
    4. I wish Yoo Ah In would be seen in an action epic historical drama with the same mysterious quiet image with 2 personalities: similar to Iljimae. This would bring out the best of his acting skills!

  7. Pingback: Sungkyunkwan Scandal eps 17 and 18 recaps « Jade Taia

  8. Hmmm. I’ve been thinking about Ep 17 and 18.

    And I found out that on the surface it’s just a love story but underneath a real transformation is taking place. The real theme of 17 and 18 is breaking down the last wall between JS and SJ. The long and winding path they are walking down leads them to perfect understanding. They eventually became each other’s mirror images.

    We all know that JS had high respect for SJ. He’s been observing SJ from day one. He wanted to know if he’s a Noron or a human being. JS and SJ are so different, like JS is more of a poet and SJ is more of a politician. JS acts from his heart and express his heart’s desire but SJ always keeps cool and prepares a practical solution. However, the stiff self-righteous young boy from a prestigious house learns to live up to his heart’s desire. The rebel who hated all the world and wreaked havoc learns to love his life and tries to work his way back into the world, not just fighting it. They kind of meet in the middle. YHee is the catalyst in both cases.

    SJ looked up to his father all his life but gets disillusioned big time. JS hated his father for all his life, but just realized that’s half the truth. JS sees himself in SJ and takes pity in the boy, who he was like, once, when he was not broken, when he was the paragon of the SKK scholar. When SJ refuses to be absolved and takes the responsibility to pay the price for his father’s guilt, JS sees that this boy is a human being through and through. He comes to love the boy, who took his love. He can’t help it.

    In turn, SJ realizes what JS went through. When SJ smiled in the middle of being bashed, he came to understand exactly why JS literally lived his life begging to be hurt.

    In SJ, JS sees himself. A man loving and loved by Yhee. That is himself, his own desire realized. That’s why he takes the blow for the couple. It’s not a meaningless sacrifice.

    Through the ordeal of SJ and JS’s heartbreak, they became a band of brothers. *sigh*

  9. What I love about ep. 18 is that the writer didn’t forget about YHee. Because of the Band of Brothers theme, YHee could easily have been discarded as a mere catalyst. However, the discovery of HER father kept her own development into a fuller social being in place. I loved it when SKKS brought the question of women’s social aspiration. I almost cried when YHee cried reading his father’s dilemma. Is it right to plant an impossible aspiration into a talented girl? YHee is different from so many K-Drama heroines who just wait for the knight in shining armor(usually a good looking rich guy) to rescue them. That’s why I am so thrilled to see this sane drama on Korean Network TV. There are all the formulas, but it’s always about the characters, not the conventions. That’s why I love SKKS.

  10. Oh, I’m supposed to be working but I’m all obsessed with SKKS. So venting first.

    (Gals, bear with this newbie. I’m kind of late on the boat, so I feel a bit rushed since this ride is going to be over in less than a week. Waaaa.)

    Just one more thing.

    I had to be thinking about SJ’s way of asking forgiveness. It’s the most perfect form of apology I’ve ever seen. When he hugged Yhee from the back, he never asked forgiveness. He just expressed his own feelings. He never says I’m sorry, since he knows it’s not enough. He never says ‘forgive me’ since it’s not for him to ask forgiveness first. He can’t demand anything and he knows it.

    He just says “I wanted to be forgiven. If there is a way, I wanted to make up for everything you lost. I wanted to make up for all the time you were running around to make money for your brother’s medicine, disguising as a boy, all the cold, hungry, and lonely time while I was reading books in a warm cozy room. I wanted to say please forgive me.”

    He doesn’t force anything. He wanted to say please forgive me but he knows he can’t. I loved the phrasing. He never puts any more emotional burden on already suffering YHee. But he lets her know how noble a person he is. Just like that.

  11. Softy!!! you really are the best. Thank you for your SOURCE-cery 😛 your translations just save me.

    @Ronar: i really enjoy reading your post. keep them coming =)

  12. Wow after reading this I’m really getting impatient on watching EP.17!
    GAH JS HAVE BETTER NOT DIE! CURSE THAT END EP!

  13. please dont die….. eps 19 kiling me, Moon Jae-Shin I will come to save you, i can not stand if something hapend to my red masanger… please i Can not wait you recap

  14. Gosh I’m so behind, been away for the last few days and can only catch up with Ep 17 and 18 now. OMG, toward the end I was like No, don’t hurt Moony T.T I’m firmly on the Smarty ship but gosh seeing JS fighting against all those guys really got me heart broken. I think this is an awesome episode, I absolutely love every single moment (including the last scene because as heartbreaking as it is, what a cliffhanger!!!). And @ Ronar: I totally agree with your observation regarding the relationship between JS and SJ. I love how their band of brothers is formed and developed.

    Okay, spazz over 🙂 @ Thundie: I love your blog, been lurking here since You’re Beautiful. This is the first time I post a comment though, seriously need to vent after such a great episode. Thanks for everything, you’re an angel ^^

Have your say

