Shin Don

Here’s the drama that I love to the moon and beyond. I previously wrote about it here.

Shin Don is many things to me, but above all it is a love story. It is about a king’s love for a country that once abandoned him. It is about this king falling in love with a woman who should rightly be a foe. It is about this woman loving him back with a devotion and ferocity that will rip your heart out. (And dang, just writing the above line brings instant tears. When will I ever recover from you, Shin Don?)

It is about a charlatan monk, with a wretched past, who will lay down his life for his king. It is about the monk’s sharp-tongued master, who sees beyond the visceral, who makes my heart hurt because I love him so much. It is a tale peopled by characters so flawed, so human, so unforgettable your heart soars when you see them in another drama.

Shin Don is the drama of my heart, period, and I would like to share it with you. Eternal gratitude to MisterX, who became a fansubs translator specifically for Shin Don. I owe you, sir. Hugs and cyber-chocolate for Julie, who came to my rescue and saved me from going bald after I failed repeatedly to upload Episodes 6-7, 9, and 11-14. I was ready to give up but your help made this post possible. Thank you.

EDIT:

All links deleted.

14 thoughts on “Shin Don

  1. By the way, some people may find the first 40 minutes of Ep 1 a tad confusing (and very intense). That’s because the drama begins with the historical background and flashbacks of later episodes. Hang in there and you’ll be rewarded with the sight of two monks strolling in the marketplace (replete with camels and all). That’s where our story officially begins. Happy watching!

  2. Hi jh

    I downloaded ep 1 from the link I posted and it plays okay. No problems with the audio. Could it be your player or the volume settings on your pc?

    As for the softsubs, you need to get them from the WITHS2 link I posted (above ep 1 in the list above). Please rename the subs as Shin Don 01.srt so that the file matches the video. Your player will then be able to play the subs automatically.

  3. thank you very much for sharing this. read that you have rated this drama a 12! hope that i will like it as much as you have.

  4. Does anyone know where I can get the dvd set for Shin Don? I’ve looked everywhere and can’t find it. I have an interest in this because my wife is a direct desendant of Shin Don. Any info will be helpful. Thanks.

  5. Thanks a bunch for taking your time and uploading the episodes thundie!!
    Especially for the ost.
    I’ve started watching Shindon as I promised to make it my 100th drama hehe..And loving it! Currently at ep.20..Shindon rocks! I’ll be back when I finished the drama.

  6. Thanks so much for the upload. My brother’s on a saeguk spree and I’m trying to find the good ones for him. Good thing I’m able to find Shindon here ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Just finished the drama, thanks a lot for the links.

    “It is about a kingโ€™s love for a country that once abandoned him. It is about this king falling in love with a woman who should rightly be a foe. It is about this woman loving him back with a devotion and ferocity that will rip your heart out. (And dang, just writing the above line brings instant tears.”

    Indeed it is… the best love story & my best couple in saeguk dramas so far.

  8. so i have your word it wont get boring at ep 40 or so ? ok then,i ‘ll start watching ๐Ÿ˜€

    the only long drama i watched was Giant, and it’s worth the time. I hope this one is equally good.

  9. My personal library contains hundreds of Korean TV drama DVD sets, with English subtitles. Sorry to disagree, but in my opinion, Shin Don is below-average for Korean historical dramas. I’d rate Shin Don a 4 out of a 10.

    One thing I can’t stand is stupid main characters, and Shin Don is an idiot who had a hard time grasping what should be patently obvious. And if there was a choice between doing something the right way, simply, time and time again Shin Don picked the wrong way and made things more complicated than they were.

    I like main characters to be quick-witted and one who makes wise decisions. Don Shin is the polar opposite.

Have your say

