Favorite Male Roles (Part 2)

It was about two weeks ago that I had this ‘brilliant’ idea to create a poll of our favorite actors and their most-loved roles. So I posted the first poll (male roles) and then the second (female roles), patted myself on the back and went about my merry way, whistling.

And then it started. A reader told me I had left out Song Il-gook. Oops. Then, while happily sipping my Diet Coke at a mall, I nearly choked when one missing name popped into my head. Uhm Tae-woong!

Still, I resisted. I’m made of sterner stuff, after all.

But last night I was brushing my teeth before bed (and I tend to get some of my wildest ideas for recaps and posts when my mouth is full of toothpaste foam, don’t ask me why) when it hit me.

Forgot Song Seung-hun!

Now, I’m not SSH’s fan or anything, but I happen to be a huge fan of So Ji-sub. If, in a million light years, Jisub happens to drop by my blog and sees that I included him (SJS) but not him (SSH), what is he going to say? How hurt is he going to feel? How can I ever bear it if my careless omission makes him… cry?

So, thanks to SJS and his BFF (Best Friend Forever), I bring you Part 2 of our Favorite Male Roles. Also check out Part 1 (THE original 20, keke).

(Just like in the first two polls, the actor must have at least seven dramas and/or movies to qualify. Also, I’m sorry if I’ve left out your favorites, but there won’t be a Part 3!)

14 thoughts on “Favorite Male Roles (Part 2)

  1. Once Upon A Time In High School is definitely my favourite Kwon Sang Woo role. He has yet to impress me since.

    Can’t vote for Jang Dong Gun, since I’ve only seen him in Taegukgi (and hated it).

    La Dolce Vita is definitely Lee Dong Wook’s best role, no doubt about it. Same with Resurrection for Uhm Tae Woong. It was so hard to choose between My Sweet Seoul and TNV for The Voice, though! 😦

    Won Bin was surprisingly very good in Mother. I want to rewatch that movie…

  2. Hi Dahee, Resurrection is hands down UTW’s best role. As for Queen Seondeok… well, let’s hope the last few episodes will be much meatier for him. Psst, which one did you pick in the end for The Voice? 😀

    Aww, hjkomo, it breaks my heart not to include him, too! 😥 But he has just three dramas (the cameo in EIA doesn’t really count) and he needs at least seven to be included. Never mind, you and I love him and that’s all that matters.

  3. LOL your into is sooooo funny! Too bad though I can’t vote for any of his roles… not because I haven’t seen any but because I didn’t like him in any role he did… 😛

    also, you just made me realize that Lee Cheon Hee was in Only You! haha it didn’t occur to me at all till now! hahaha!

  4. Now, you’re talking. This is officially my fav poll!

    Eric is included!! Pardon my fangirl love, but I can’t help it. Now I can vote for QSS!

    I can’t vote for Jang Donggun either. The only one I saw was All About Eve. I still scratch my head why people go gaga for JDG in AAE. He barely did anything in that drama other than looking pretty and inhaling cancer stick, hmmm…

  5. Drat…two of my favorite actors and I still haven’t seen their best work…I guess Resurrection and La Dolce Vita here I come…

    ::sigh:: do we really have to wait 2 years for Wookie to come back…especially when it feels like he’s improved so much since MG and his best work is probably ahead of him…I am still in awe to realize that LDW in Partner is the same one in MG…He’s improved so much!

    I’m just waiting for UTW’s next project…I admire your and WithS2’s perseverance for doing the QSD subs (by the way, your twitter comments are hilarious…Snoredeok indeed…I feel your pain)!

  6. Jang Dong Gun was fabulous in the film “TYPHOON’
    Totally different actor altogether. also the other lead was my early dreamboat Lee Jung Jae. However, I have to say it was Dong Guns stronger role that made the tension in this film.

    I am waiting to see what the next drama will be for Kim Nam Gil. He is just so delicious with that smile and those wicked eyes. I want it to be a romantic role just to have complete enjoyment and satisfactiion.

  7. Aww, I was fooled into reading this posting, having seen the cap of Jin Yi Han. Even after you’ve stated the min prerequisite of 7 projects, I was hoping he would be the exception . . . kekeke (wishful thinking)
    However, technically at time of your posting he had
    5 dramas – 2003 Screen (one ep appearance), 2007 EIA (one ep appearance) / CitC, 2008 WAY / MLGA) and
    2 Movies – 2004 Love So Divine (non-speaking role) & 2009 Escape aka Break Away
    Oh well . . . I’ve said my piece, kekeke
    BTW, hi to hjkomo too

  8. KIM NAM GIL in ‘No Regrets’
    — ‘Solo
    — ‘Bad Guy’ (not good drama but good Nam Gil)
    — as Bidam in GQSD
    and Nam gil in any interview on TV.

Have your say

